Lawrence D. Sloan, MBA, FASAE, CAE – AIHA Chief Executive Officer – Healthier Workplaces and Schools E-Book

Air Date: 4-12-24 |Episode 727|

This week we welcomed Larry Sloan AIHA Chief Executive Office for a discussion about new E-book on Healthier Workplaces and Schools. What have we learned from the science on healthier schools and workplaces and what impact has the pandemic had on our understanding of healthier indoor environments?

Z-Man’s Blog
Read this episode’s blog

Larry Sloan has served as CEO of the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) since October 2016.Prior to this, he served as CEO for seven years at SOCMA, a trade association representing the interests of the US specialty chemical industry.  Larry started his non-profit career at the Adhesive and Sealant Council, a trade association representing adhesive and sealant manufacturers, and was promoted to his first CEO role there in January 2005. He led this group for five years.

Larry began his career as a chemical engineer at Air Products and later worked for Nalco Chemical Company in marketing, manufacturing, and sales capacities. Larry earned a BS degree in chemical engineering from the University of Pennsylvania and later graduated from Northwestern University’s Kellogg Graduate School of Management where he earned his MBA.

For more than 20 years Larry has been an active member of the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE).  In 2006, he earned his Certified Association Executive (CAE) credential, and in 2021 he was appointed a Fellow (FASAE).  He currently serves as a mentor under their Young Professionals and Ready Me professional skills development programs.

He has spoken at various non-profit community events over the years, hosted by ASAE, CESSE (Council of Engineering and Scientific Society Executives), and others.  He currently serves as a member of the CESSE Board of Directors.

Prior volunteer leadership roles include serving on the ASAE Research Committee (elected chair in 2020); as a board member (chair in 2012) of the National Association of Manufacturers Council of Manufacturing Associations; and as a board member of the Chemical Educational Foundation.